Deployment: 1 Care Package at a Time

Care Package Pics

Hello Ladies & Gents! Welcome to the care package extravaganza!!!

Alright, so care packages..what do you think about them? Do they cost too much? Just don’t know what to put in them? Feeling a little bored with them? Well no worries cause I’m just immature enough to spice up any care package, and just enough of a college kid to be able to pull magic out of my insanely small budget! My boyfriend is deployed, and planning and putting these little boxes together really just makes my week. I’ve sent him 3 thus far and I’m working on my 4th for Thanksgiving! (I already have it all planned out!)

Deployment can be such a drag….seriously, I think I spend the majority of my time wishing my soldier was here with me and thinking how it sucks that he’s not, and how he can’t do this, and I can’t do that….so let’s just take a second to look at something that’s not so terrible…maybe even kind of…fun? Are we allowed to have that while our soldiers are away? The answer is YES!!! Care packages are probably my favorite thing to do for my friends and my boyfriend while they’re deployed! It gives me a chance to have a smile on my face, and it gives them a little something from home and a little bit of encouragment that they aren’t being forgotten. I recently sent two out, my boyfriend’s first, and my friend’s second! (No I don’t send my friend more care packages, he’s just been deployed longer lol). So they had both been complaining about how bored they were and how they wish they had brought some more dvds and things to do, and how the chow hall sucks and they wish they had some snacks….yeah…they were playing right into my game ๐Ÿ˜›
So I came up with a “Movie Night Boredom Pack” here’s a list of the stuff I sent (each one had a little bit that the other one didn’t so they both didn’t get all of this.
1) CANDY CANDY CANDY (98 cents a box)
2)DVDS (Out of the $5 bin at walmart) (Good ones though)
3)Popcorn Bowls (3 to a box $2)
4) Pack of Cracker Jacks (3 stuck together 98 cents for all three)
5)A small Nerf Gun ($10)
6) Extra Nerf Bullets ($4)
7) Water Guns ($1)
8) Glow stick Swords ($1)
9) Hot Wheels Car (98 cents)
10) Water Balloons ($1)
11) Pack of cards ($1)
12) Ritz Snack Packs (Which I packed into a tupperware container that he can use later)
13) Pringles Snack Packs (Couple different flavors that I’ve dispersed throughout the care packages)

After I played tetris trying to fit all these things in a flat rate box (college girl on a budget) I filled the extra bit with candy (bought a bag of various types from Walmart, kinda like you get around Halloween time) I’ll attach some pics of the final product ๐Ÿ˜€

The one I want to show you guys today is the first one I ever sent him, and it was around the time we first started dating. I was so worried about what I was going to send and what he would like and what would be too cheesy or just fun enough…I was all kinds of messed up over this darn box! Luckily, I had made one care package before for my “Adopt- A-US-Soldier”, and so I knew a little bit but I was able to talk with him over Facebook about things that James might like or what was “too cheesy” or what would get him made fun of. And so this time I made both of them a box, and I think they came out pretty darn amazing!

Care Package Pics

2 thoughts on “Deployment: 1 Care Package at a Time

  1. As the wife of a former OEF/OIF Marine Sniper I appreciate this post so very much….your adding special touches to the inside of the box itself is beyond adorable. I love it! Wishing him a safe return soon and you both a very Happy Thanksgiving! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you so much!! Decorating the boxes has become my favorite part! It’s funny because there have been times when I’ll be decorating the box while I’m on Skype with him so all he sees is me cutting paper or taping things. He gets so curious! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

