Mason Jar Madness!

I gave in! My boyfriend has been begging me to send him some baked goods in his next care package. I was a little hesitant because it takes anywhere from a week to two and a half weeks for his packages to get to him. Now imagine baked goods after that period of time…can we say gross? I’m kind of a germaphobe, but I know that is not just me! Anywho, I did some research and kept seeing these mason jar cakes! Not only do I love anything in a mason jar (how freaking adorable!) but they stay fresh & sealed!

Here’s how it works:

  1. Whip up your favorite cake mix (boxed or homemade <-my go to yellow cake mix)
  2. Fill the jars HALF WAY. If you fill them more than that you’ll have a mess on your hands (and your oven)
  3. Place filled jars on a cookie sheet or in a cake pan so they won’t slide around .
  4. Bake the ovens at the temperature your recipe calls for. (I baked mine at 350 degrees)
  5. Special note: I have a really old oven, and these 4 jars took about 35 minutes, but it may be different for you)
  6. While your cakes are baking, boil the mason jar lids in a pot of water.
  7. Once the cakes come out of the oven, take out your lids, dry them, and use oven mitts to twist them onto the hot jars.
  8. Sit them on the counter to cool and listen for the lids to “pop” meaning that they’ve sealed.

Ok so the jars are just adorable as is! But I found some labels that are just too darn cute!! I had thought about just tying ribbon around the lids but hold onto your socks girls and check out these labels!! <–Click me!

Just an additional side note, I’m sending these in a care package, so I wrapped them in bubble wrap so they wouldn’t crack. So be careful about how you transport them because they are glass. Better safe than sorry, right?

9 thoughts on “Mason Jar Madness!

    • Thanks!! I’ve seen it all over Pinterest and other blogs but I never had the courage to give it a try! I’ll let you know what kind of shape they’re in when they get to their destination in about a week and a half! 🙂

    • I’m pretty sure he does! I just got these little ziploc vacuum seal bags too, so I’m gonna try and send some more goodies in those. I’ll have to try the shortbread! I haven’t made it in a while but it’s one of my favorites!! Thanks for the tip!

    • They would make great Christmas gifts!! If you were giving them away locally you could even include some icing! Lol,I had to include a little can separately..I was pretty bummed that I couldn’t decorate them. And yeah, I wasn’t a huge fan of sending baked goods overseas, but he was so excited about it I couldn’t say no 🙂

  1. Pingback: Mason Jar Madness! | Dark Artist Studios's Blog

Leave a Reply

