Deployment: 1 Care Package at a Time #4

Image

Happy day after Thanksgiving y’all!
So I got a call from my Mr.Solider this morning while I was running around my house looking for my work shirt, and he got his Thanksgiving care package!! I don’t know who’s more excited, me or him! I love making these boxes of goodies, but it’s always a little nerve racking cause there’s that little voice inside my head that wonders if he’s gonna like it, or if I officially crossed the line from “cool nerd” to “holy shiznitz my girlfriend’s weird”.Β  So…I’ll let you decide today…

I decided to go with a Fall/Thanksgiving theme for this one, since it’s Fall and..well it was Thanksgiving, but it’s not my fault his post office was closed yesterday! But can we take a minute to admire my timing skills? I sent him a package for Thanksgiving, and had the post office been open, he would have gotten it either the day before, or ON Thanksgiving! BOOYAH! I’m a pro now! But anywho, I wanted to create a kind of Thanksgiving feast in snacks. So this is what I came up with:

Image

  • Turkey Jerky = Holiday Turkey
  • Mini boxes of Craisins = Cranberry Sauce
  • Sweet Potato Chips = Sweet Potato Casserole
  • Little Pumpkin Pie Debbie Cakes = Pumpkin Pie
  • Apple Cider
  • Salted Pumpkin Seeds
  • 3 boxes of Cracker Jacks
  • Big bag of Rolos = Best candy known to man kind (His opinion)
  • 3 disc DVD set: Charlie Brown Holidays
  • Icing Packets (Oreo and S’more)
  • Cake in a Mason Jar <–Click for DIY Post
  • Thanksgiving Card (signed by yours truly)

So I found this autumn leave scrap booking paper, and I thought it was adorable!! It turned out toΒ  be kinda in your face…really in your face…but I thought it was still cute! So then I cut out the little triangles out of some hay patterned paper (I know, totally matches, NOT) and fashioned them into a banner of sorts that elegantly states “I Love You”. Then I made these little “Why I’m Thankful for You” cards on my computer (I may make a post about them at some point) and stuck them around the flaps of the box. I don’t think this man ever has to question if I love him, just by the amount of crafts I make him that say so!

15 thoughts on “Deployment: 1 Care Package at a Time #4

    • They’re delicious! And this is coming from a girl who normally refuses to eat store bought icing (I know snooty!) But they’re in the baking section at walmart, near the sprinkles. They’re just little pouches with a nozzle at the top so you can ice with them! I think you can add a plastic icing tip to the top…but don’t quote me on that. lol πŸ™‚

    • It’s a lot of fun! My boyfriend is in the military, and is deployed so I send him the packages as kind of a piece of home that he’s missing. But I’ve made them for friends who moved to a new house, or are possibly starting college. It’s great to hear what they say after they get them πŸ™‚

  1. That is so sweet! I love the decorated box…I did something similar for The Warrior for Valentine’s Day…pasted cut out hearts and photos of us together on the inside flaps. πŸ™‚
    I have a recipe for Pumpkin Cookies that travel very well and were a BIG hit with him and his soldiers last year…if you want, I’d be happy to share the recipe!

    • Oh my gosh! That would be awesome! I would love that recipe, they sound delicious (I love anything pumpkin). I just made him some chocolate chip cookies that I’m sending soon but I was trying to figure out what else I wanted to send with them since my oatmeal cookies didn’t come out so fantastic lol! So that would be perfect!

  2. Aww, I want one! I’m deployed in cold, wet Dublin. I’m battling drizzle and darkness on a daily basis. That’s so cool, your little package is so loving crafted and packed with yummy stuff πŸ™‚ That’s one lucky dude!

    Rohan.

    • Haha! Thank you! I try to send him a little bit of home when I can, just stuff that’s comforting! He’s getting to the snowy season where he is, so I tried to send him some warmth from home (literally since it’s in the 70’s where we’re from)! We literally had like 1 week of cold weather and then it went back to sunny! It’s crazy! It must be at least a little cool to be in Dublin though! (Even though it’s deployment & rainy) I’ve always wanted to go there!

      • Oh god, I’m not really deployed to Dublin, I should have been more clear. It just feels like it lol >.< There are many things I love about Ireland but I've been here a long time now and I need a change, you know? Next year I'm planning to live in the South of France where I lived for a while when I was young πŸ™‚

        Aww, I'm so jealous of the lovely warm weather hehe. I spent my teenage years in sunny Australia so I know what it's like! And I'm sure you'd love Dublin, it's a very cool city with looooads of history πŸ™‚

        Rohan.

      • Oh! Ha, I was wondering, cause I’ve never heard of someone being deployed to Dublin, but my boyfriend is deployed to a country that I had never even heard of before!! (Cause it’s relatively new) so what I’m saying is it really wouldn’t be a stretch! Lol! I hear ya though; sounds like you get to do some cool traveling! I’ve never been out of the country (working on that). I have lots of future travel plans! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

